If you were arrested and charged with OUI and have a prior OUI or DUI conviction (in any state) on your record, you face a serious legal problem. The Massachusetts driving while intoxicated attorneys at Gilman Law can help.
Penalties for second OUI
Massachusetts has a “lifetime lookback” period. Any prior OUI or DUI conviction will be considered a prior offense by the RMV, no matter how long ago the incident occurred, and in what state. The penalties imposed by the court could in a conviction could include:
- Driver’s license suspension up to two years
- Requirement to install an ignition interlock device in any vehicle you operate
- Fines of $600 to $10,000
- Jail time from 30 days to 2 ½ years