The courts in Massachusetts impose heavy penalties for OUI, even a first-time misdemeanor offense. If you're facing such a charge, you need an impaired driving defense attorney in Massachusetts who has experience in this area.
Penalties for First Time OUI in Massachusetts
The range of penalties you could face if convicted of a first-time OUI include:
- Fines ranging from $500 to $5,000
- Prison time up to 2 ½ years
- One-year license suspension
- A three month “wait period” before the right to a hardship license