A third, fourth or subsequent OUI conviction is a felony. While a first or second OUI offense are misdemeanors and allow for alternative sentencing and dispositions, this is not the case for drivers with two, three, or more prior convictions. With the Massachusetts “lifetime lookback,” any DUI or OUI offense, in any state, even from years in the past, comes into play, leading to an OUI being a felony charge.
What are the penalties for felony OUI in Massachusetts?
A felony OUI conviction can lead to severe penalties, including:
- Fines from $1,000 to $15,000
- Up to five years incarceration, with at least six months mandatory
- Up to a lifetime license suspension
- Limited Hardship License Opportunities at least two years following a conviction.
- Once right to drive restored, installation of an ignition interlock device at your own expense for an extensive period of time.
Other consequences for felony OUI conviction
Beyond being forced to spend time behind bars, a felony conviction includes:
- Risk of deportation for non-citizens
- Loss of right to own a firearm
- Restrictions on employment opportunities