Mandatory Minimum Jail Sentence Avoided

Mike* came to Gilman Law, P.C., after he was arrested and charged with Operating After Suspension for OUI. A conviction of Operating After Suspension for OUI in Massachusetts carries a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 60 days and an additional 1-year license suspension. In addition to the mandatory minimum jail sentence, Operating After Suspension for OUI charges cannot be continued without a finding or modified in a way that would avoid the mandatory minimum sentence. 

Mike was fifty-six years old and lived in Western Massachusetts. Where Mike lived there was no public transportation. Mike is married has three adult children and three grandchildren. At the time of his arrest he was driving to work, located 90 minutes from his home. Prior to retaining Attorney Gilman, Mike had resolved his OUI case and given a 45-day license suspension. At the time of his license suspension, Mike was working as a production manager at one of the state's largest Newspapers. He was arrested just four days prior to the end of the 45-day suspension. 

Attorney Gilman knew that mandatory minimum jail sentence and license suspension were not fair. Working with Mike, Attorney Gilman put together a strong case to give to the Assistant District Attorney in charge of the Milford District Court. In just two court appearances, Attorney Gilman working with the District Attorney's Office reached a resolution that avoided any jail sentence or license suspension! Mike was able to keep working without having to fear that he was going to jail or facing any additional suspension time.

Successful outcomes such as Mikes are happening in District and Superior Courts every day. Attorney Gilman has an extensive record of success in helping clients navigate both the court and license suspension processes.  If you have or are facing criminal charges or a license suspension, do not wait! Attorney Gilman is available for a Free Case Consultation. Attorney Gilman can help you get back on the road legally!